Tuesday, 23 March 2010

She & Him - Volume Two

March 2010 She & Him - Volume 2 Merge Records MRG354/Double Six DS024 (cd/lp)

1 Thieves
2 In the Sun
3 Don't Look Back
4 Ridin' in My Car
5 Lingering Still
6 Me and You
7 Gonna Get Along Without You Now
8 Home
9 I'm Gonna Make It Better
10 Sing
11 Over It Over Again
12 Brand New Shoes
13 If You Can't Sleep

Zooey Deschanel - Piano, Voices
M. Ward - Synthesizer, Guitar, Mandolin, Voices, Vibraphone, Piano
Mike Mogis - Synthesizer, Percussion, Mandolin
Scott McPherson - Percussion, Drums
Mike Coykendall - Bass, Acoustic Guitar, Vocals
Tom Hagerman - Strings
Amanda Lawrence - Strings
Peter Broderick - Strings
Paul Brainerd - Pedal Steel
Tilly And The Wall - vocals

Friday, 19 March 2010


March 2010 Newark (mp3)

From flickr:

"1. nine hours - copenhagen to newark
2. six hours - waiting at newark airport
3. six hours - newark to portland

I arrive in Newark. Inside the airport the air is warm and stale. Going outside means that I'll have to go through the tedious security check once more, but there's no way I'm going to stay in here that long.

Outside, I sit down on a bench and have a cigarette. To the right there's big group of young Danes from my same flight. If it's possible to turn off the brain in any way, I had definitely flipped that switch. Nothing looked beautiful, nothing looked the opposite of beautiful. Everything was just there, and I was just there, with absolutely no ambitions or energy to do anything but sit there and kill the time.

Eating might be good. I get up to go check if there's anything inside. As I'm walking to the entrance, I pass a trash can, with all kinds of people standing around, waiting to be picked up.



I think it's fair to say that I make a very conscious effort not to judge people or things too quickly, but I have to say, whoever puts a guitar in a trash can is a FOOL. Certainly not someone I'd be having dinner with. But in this moment, I was absolutely thrilled that this fool was here on the planet with me.

Aside from being wildly out of tune, the guitar seemed to be in fine shape. One of the tuning pegs broke as I tried to stretch the strings into some kind of playable sound. But I just made up some strange tuning that fit with the one string that couldn't be changed.


We had a nice time together. And once I remembered that eating might be a good idea, I left it there on the sidewalk, hoping one of those Danish kids would pick it up and get the whole group to do a singalong. "

Thursday, 18 March 2010

Jasper TX - A Voice From Dead Radio

March 2010 Jasper TX – A Voice From Dead Radio Under The Spire Spire 025 (cd)

Disc 1
01: Harrisburg Pt.1
02: Harrisburg Pt.2
03: D
04: A
05: A Beacon To Lead Us There
06: The Glow Of Minerals
07: Through Dusk...And Falling Leaves
08: Our Way Through The Field
09: A Quiet Gloom
10: A Voice From Dead Radio

Disc 2
01: Harrisburg Pt.1 remix by Pillowdiver
02: Harrisburg Pt.2 cover by Zelienople
03: D remix by Jefre Cantu-Ledesma
04: A remix by Xela
05: A Beacon To Lead Us There remix by Peter Broderick
06: The Glow Of Minerals remix by Simon Scott
07: Through Dusk...And Falling Leaves remix by Steinbruchel
08: Our Way Through The Field remix by Aaron Martin
09: A Quiet Gloom remix by Alex Cobb
10: A Voice From Dead Radio assembly by Seaworthy