Wednesday, 26 August 2009

4 Track Songs

August 2009 4 Track Songs Type Records Type044 (2xLP, cd, download)

1. (No Title)
2. Piano & Rain
3. Nothing
4. Shortened Version (Mistake)
5. For Pop
6. Walking/Thinking
7. (Untitled)
8. Bad Song

1. More Of A Composition
2. A Low End Rumble
3. Outside
4. For Piano
5. For Dave
6. Piano And Violin (Volume 3 bonus track)
7. Refining (Volume 3 bonus track)

1. Looking/Thinking
2. Bad Song #2
3. A Simple String Duet
4. Three Cats
5. Jenn Is Sick
6. Get Well Soon
7.(Untitled #2)

1. A Current Soundtrack
2. A Former Soundtrack
3. G Major
4. The Cold
5. Listening/Thinking
6. Saw A Movie Today (Volume 3 bonus track)
7. Pop's Song (Volume 3 bonus track)

From Type Records:

In just a few short years multi-instrumentalist, singer-songwriter, composer and all round renaissance man Peter Broderick has shot from being a darling of the underground to something far more substantial. Constantly touring, Peter has accrued fans far and wide with his alluring folk songs and gorgeous post-classical compositions, but all this had to start somewhere.

A few years ago Peter was kind enough to send Type a package of all his material prior to writing ‘Float’. This came in the form of two CDRs, lovingly hand-labelled ‘4 Track Songs’. Recorded to tape using only a cheap microphone, Peter assembled these tracks as and when they came to his head. From delicate piano improvisations to fully fledged songs more reminiscent of ‘Home’ this is a charming and heart-warming portal into Peter’s early creative process. More than that though, these songs are so defiant in their hazy, lo-fi beauty that they stand on their own as pieces that can never possibly be repeated.

Moving from track to track with all the grace of that chunky stop button on a cassette recorder, we are treated to both volumes of Peter’s early recordings and although they might have been released before, they actually never sold a single copy. Peter ended up giving them away to lucky friends and relatives as the general public had no idea of what they were missing out on. Through dedications (‘For Dave’) to get-well-soon messages (‘Jenn is Sick’) to simple musings on life (‘Three Cats’) each song seems to come straight from the heart and is untroubled by the trappings of modern production. This is pure, simple and ineffably beautiful music which shows the beginnings of a truly special talent.

Listen to the cd version here

On his myspace page, Peter wrote: "I am happy to tell you that a collection of my music called 4 Track Songs has just been released on Type Recordings, on CD and double vinyl. I recorded this music back in 2006, before I had ever released an album of my own, with some very cheap and basic recording equipment.

I made two short albums like this, and then I started this Myspace page. I posted the music, and announced that I was selling my albums for $0.00. All you had to do was write me on here and I'd send you one.

No one wrote.

My little virtual corner of the internet wasn't getting much attention then. It took me several months to get rid of all the copies, asking family members to take five copies and share them. I never thought this music would take me anywhere, I just wanted to share it with whoever wanted to hear.

Anyhow, now the music is more widely available, for anyone who would like to hear it. "

No comments:

Post a Comment